Departments  >  Receiver of Taxes
Search Our Site

Office of the Receiver of Taxes
Louis J. Marcoccia

Our staff are here to serve you.
  • The office of the Receiver of Taxes is not a policy-making office; it is an administrative office. We do not make the tax rates; we only collect them.
  • Taxes are collected in accordance with New York State Real Property Tax Laws and the Suffolk County Tax Act.
  • If the bank pays your taxes, you will receive an informational bill from this office around the middle of July.
  • If you pay your own taxes, you will receive an original bill in mid-December. Please return this bill with your payment.
Tax Year
Town, County and School taxes in Suffolk County cover the period from December 1st to November 30th of the following year.

School Taxes: School budgets are set by your local school districts. Every year you have the opportunity to vote on the school budget. This determines the amount of taxes you will pay for schools in your district.

County Taxes: County Taxes are set by a county budget, approved by the County Executive and the Suffolk County Legislature.

Town Taxes: Town Taxes are set by a town budget, approved by the Supervisor and Town Board.

Public Hearings are set for school, county and town budgets.

Taxes Payable to Town Tax Receiver - Due Dates
Taxes become a lien on December 1st of each year. Taxes may be paid in two installments:You will receive one bill only. The following is a list of penalty percents and their effective dates:

1% - January 10th 2% - February 10th 3% - March 10th 4% - April 10th 5% - May 10th

The last payment date is May 31st. Taxpayers who are receiving the enhanced STAR or over 65 exemption have an additional 5 business days from May 31st to make payment.

Payment of Taxes
The Receiver of Taxes makes every effort to see that bills reach the taxpayer, however, the tax laws of Suffolk County state that payment of taxes on a timely basis is the responsibility of the property owner even if the tax bill has not been received. The property owner will be liable for all penalties and interest on late payments.

As tax bills are sent out in December, any person who purchases property in Suffolk County during the following year should contact the Receiver of Taxes to determine if all taxes are current. If you have not received a tax bill by the third week in December, and wish to make a payment, please contact our office.

Methods of Payment
PAYING IN PERSON: PLEASE BRING YOUR ORIGINAL TAX BILL WITH YOU. Upon payment, your bill will be receipted and returned to you. Keep this bill as your receipt of payment. You will also need this bill to pay your second half taxes due May 31st.

PAYING BY MAIL: RETURN PROPER STUB WITH YOUR PAYMENT. After payment has been recorded, a receipt will be mailed to you.

CHECKS: Checks should be made payable to: Louis J. Marcoccia, Receiver of Taxes. Please write your item number on your check. Please note: New York State Statute allows the town board to impose a $20 fee for dishonored checks.

Postmark Dates
If taxes are paid by mail, you will avoid penalty and interest if the envelope bears an official post office date stamp not later than the last day to pay in person. A metered postmark is not acceptable.

Most mortgages include an escrow account for the payment of taxes. If a property owner satisfies a mortgage in midyear, the property owner must check with the Receiver of Taxes to determine if the bank paid the total tax.

Online Contact Form


Tax Office Hours
Regular Hours: 9:00 am to 4:30 pm Monday to Friday
Payments accepted until 4:00 pm

View Unclaimed Tax Refunds
View Brookhaven Tax Office Frequently Asked Questions

FIRST HALF PAYMENT DUE: Payable and Post marked January 10th without penalty. First and second payments may be paid at the same time prior to January 10th 

SECOND HALF PAYMENT DUE: Payable and Post marked by May 31st without penalty.

After May 31st, all bills must be paid to the Suffolk County Comptroller's Office: Riverhead County Center - 330 Center Drive - Riverhead, New York 11901-3311 - 631-852-3000

Taxes Payable to Comptroller's Office
After May 31st of each year, all taxes are due and payable to the Suffolk County Comptroller's Office. Additional interest and penalties will accrue at this time. You may call their office at 631-852-3000 or visit their website.

Tax Exemption
Anyone who purchases improved property in Suffolk County should question if there was any tax exemption granted to the previous owner such as a Veterans or Senior Citizen exemption. This exemption would not pass on to the new owner and the tax could change considerably when the exemption is removed from the property.

Persons eligible for a tax exemption must file the appropriate paperwork by March 1st of each year in order to qualify on their next tax bill. Exemptions include Veterans, Senior Citizens (65 and older), Disability, and STAR (School Tax Relief) Program.
For further information regarding exemptions, you must contact the Department of Assessment at 631-451-6300 or click visit their website.

If you are either 65 years of age or older, or disabled and you own and occupy a one, two, or three family residence, you may designate a consenting adult third-party to receive duplicate copies of your tax bills and notices of unpaid taxes. Applications may be obtained in person from your tax-collecting officer. Applications for third-party notifications must be filed with the tax-collecting officer no later than October 1st. Access the application for third-party notifications.
Contact Information
Louis J Marcoccia
Receiver of Taxes
John F. Kreutz
 Deputy Tax Receiver
Anthony F. Caravana
Senior Operations Manager
One Independence Hill, Suite 110
Farmingville, NY 11738-2149
(631) 451-9009, phone
(631) 451-9008, fax

Property Has Been Sold or Transferred