Black History Commission


  • Ms. Jennifer Martin, Chairwoman
  • Ms. Janet Batton
  • Dr. Corrinne Graham
  • Mr. Myles Green
  • Dr. Georgette Grier-Key
  • Mr. Clayton Hudson
  • Ms. Leah Jefferson
  • Ms. Charlotte Pressley
  • Ms. Lorraine Richardson McCray
  • Mr. Tracy Todd Hunter
Black History Commission 2018

About the Commission

In 1991, a Black History Month Committee was formed in observance of Black History Month. Two years later, the then Town Board established a permanent Black History Commission to provide continuity in planning and organizing a Black History Night celebration each February. The purpose of these celebrations is to acknowledge and honor the contributions of Black Americans, both nationally and locally, while fostering an appreciation for Black culture and heritage in our your people.

Recognizing that celebrating Black culture should not be limited to one specific month, the Town Board unanimously passed a resolution expanding and broadening the scope of the Black History Commission, in January, 2014. This afforded the residents of Brookhaven the opportunity to attend the first ever Juneteenth event that was hosted by the Town on June 19, 2014.

Watch the 2019 Black History Month Celebration

Juneteenth Celebration

The Town of Brookhaven Black History Commission’s Sixth Annual Juneteenth Celebration will be held as a virtual Zoom event.


Saturday, June 20th

Readings of Early Juneteenth Celebration Accounts

Juneteenth Trivia Games

“Sunday Best” Hat Competition

Historical Cooking Demonstration

Photo & Video Highlights of Past Juneteenth Celebrations

This event is open to all Brookhaven Town residents
Please RSVP to

View Flyer

Learn More

Contact Councilwoman Cartright’s Office online or call at 631-451-6963.