News Flash

Women's Services

Posted on: March 26, 2019

Town Honors Women’s Recognition Award Recipients at the 33rd Annual Town Hall Ceremony

Womens Recognition Group photo

Farmingville, NY –  On March 21, Supervisor Ed Romaine and the Town Board honored the recipients of the 2019 Women's Recognition Awards at the 33rd annual ceremony held at Brookhaven Town Hall. The event was sponsored by the Town's Office of Women's Services. Nominated by members of the community, the recipients either live or work in the Town of Brookhaven and have demonstrated excellence in a variety of areas. Nominations were considered by members of Brookhaven's Women's Advisory Board and selected based on resumes and letters of recommendation. The 2019 Women’s Recognition Award recipients are:

Arts: Angela Raymond, resident of Patchogue
Business: DeeDee Griner, resident of Mastic Beach
Communications/ Media: Donna DeVita, resident of Mastic Beach
Community Service Professional: Dr. Carol Carter, founder Sunshine Prevention Center
Community Service Volunteer: Gretchen A. Mones, resident of Stony Brook
Education: Marie Ficano, Ed.D, resident of Northport
Government: Annette Mahoney-Cross, resident of Mount Sinai
Health Care Provider: Denise Driscoll, RN-BC, NPP resident of Rocky Point
Law Enforcement: Suffolk County Police Commissioner Geraldine Hart, Police Headquarters
Legal Profession: Honorable Theresa Whelan, Suffolk County Court
Medicine: Kym Carpentieri, D.O., resident of West Sayville
Religion: Kate Jones Calone, resident of Setauket
Science: Dr. Cathy S. Cutler, resident of Shirley
Dress for Success Brookhaven Volunteer Award: Annette Crosson, Rita Kiernan, Ronni Schultz

This year, the Supervisor and the members of the Town Board each nominated a woman who resides in the Town to receive a Special Commendation for Outstanding Service. They are:

Supervisor Edward P. Romaine: Erma Gluck, resident of Coram
Councilwoman Valerie M. Cartright: Yvonne Grant, resident of North Babylon (President & CEO of the Girl Scouts of Suffolk County)
Councilwoman Jane Bonner: Leeana Costa, resident of Rocky Point
Councilman Neil Foley: Joelle Hawkes, resident of Blue Point
Councilman Daniel J. Panico: Kerri Rosalia, resident of Manorville
Councilman Kevin J. LaValle: Casey Berry, resident of Port Jefferson
Councilman Michael A. Loguercio: Yvonne Rivers, resident of Gordon Heights

The Town of Brookhaven's Office of Women's Services, a Division of the Department of Housing and Human Services, provides a variety of services for women and their families. For more information, call 631-451-6146 or visit our website.

Division of Public Information * Office of the Supervisor
One Independence Hill • Farmingville • NY 11738 • Phone 631-451-6595

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Women's Services