News Flash

Women's Services

Posted on: May 18, 2022

Town to Celebrate the 36th Anniversary of the Office of Women’s Services on June 14

Town Seal

Farmingville, NY – - On Tuesday, June 14 at 6:00 pm, the Town of Brookhaven will celebrate the 36th Anniversary of the Office of Women’s Services at the Meadow Club, 1147 Route 112 in Port Jefferson Station. The ceremony will include keynote speaker Geraldine Hart, Director of Public Safety at Hofstra University and former Suffolk County Police Commissioner. The event includes a cocktail hour, dinner and musical entertainment. For more information, or to make your reservation for the Women's Recognition Awards Ceremony, visit the Town website or call 631-451-6146.

The Office of Women’s Services will also present its Women’s Recognition Award to the recipients who were nominated by members of the community. They either live or work in the Town of Brookhaven and have demonstrated excellence in a variety of areas. Nominations were considered by members of Brookhaven Women's Advisory Board and selected based on resumes and letters of recommendation. The Town of Brookhaven Division of Women’s Services strives to assist women and/or their families in seeking help and guidance in times of transition or crisis by fostering services aimed at improving their lives and enabling them to make healthier decisions.

2020 - 2022 Women’s Services Honorees:
Beth Giacummo - Lachacz - Arts
Anna Kirk - Business
Ida Timmons, LMSW - Community Service Professional
Judith I. Betts - Community Service Volunteer
Lauren M. Roddin - Education
Adeline M. Rosa - Government
Brandy Feliu, MSN, RN - Healthcare Provider
Leslie B. Anderson, Esq. - Legal Profession
Kimberly Herrera, MD – Medicine
SSgt Tatiana Garcia - Military
Nita Webb - Religion
Dr. Crysten Blaby-Haas - Science
Marie Therese Turchiano - Sports
Investigator Sergeant Erin Meunkle - Law Enforcement/First Responder

2022 Town Board Women’s Commendation Award Recipients:
The Supervisor and the members of the Town Council each nominated a woman who resides in the Town to receive a Special Commendation for Outstanding Service:
Supervisor Edward P. Romaine - Debra Ann Loesch
Councilmember Jonathan Kornreich - Sandra Krolik
Councilwoman Jane Bonner - Alisa McMorris
Councilman Kevin J. LaValle - Doreen Newman
Councilman Michael A. Loguercio - Pierina Camurati Leonardo
Councilman Neil Foley - Jennifer McNamara
Councilman Daniel Panico - Cassy Caputo

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Women's Services