News Flash

Special Events and Honors

Posted on: June 17, 2022

Town Celebrates the 36th Anniversary of the Office of Women’s Services at Women’s Recognition Awards

Town Seal

Farmingville, NY – -NY - On June 14, Supervisor Ed Romaine and the Town Board honored the recipients of the 2020-2022 Women's Recognition Awards at the Meadow Club in Port Jefferson Station. The event was sponsored by the Town's Office of Women's Services and celebrated the office’s 36th anniversary. Nominated by members of the community, the winners either live or work in the Town of Brookhaven and have demonstrated excellence in a variety of areas. Nominations were considered by members of Brookhaven Town’s Women's Advisory Board and selected based on resumes and letters of recommendation. During the evening, recipients of the Women’s Commendation Awards were also announced. The Supervisor and the members of the Town Council each nominated a woman who resides in the Town of Brookhaven to receive a Special Commendation for outstanding community service. Pictured left to right are Tax Receiver Lou Marcoccia; Councilman Dan Panico; Keynote Speaker Geraldine Hart, Director of Public Safety at Hofstra University and former Suffolk County Police Commissioner; Councilman Neil Foley; Councilwoman Jane Bonner; Councilmember Jonathan Kornreich and Supervisor Ed Romaine.

The 2020-2022 Women’s Recognition Award recipients:
Beth Giacummo - Lachacz - Arts
Anna Kirk - Business
Ida Timmons, LMSW - Community Service Professional
Judith I. Betts - Community Service Volunteer
Lauren M. Roddin - Education
Adeline M. Rosa - Government
Brandy Feliu, MSN, RN - Healthcare Provider
Leslie B. Anderson, Esq. - Legal Profession
Kimberly Herrera, MD – Medicine
SSgt Tatiana Garcia - Military
Nita Webb - Religion
Dr. Crysten Blaby-Haas - Science
Marie Therese Turchiano - Sports
Investigator Sergeant Erin Meunkle - Law Enforcement/First Responder

2022 Town Board Women’s Commendation Award Recipients:

The Supervisor and the members of the Town Council each nominated a woman who resides in the Town to receive a Special Commendation for Outstanding Service:

Supervisor Edward P. Romaine - Debra Ann Loesch
Councilmember Jonathan Kornreich - Sandra Krolik
Councilwoman Jane Bonner - Alisa McMorris
Councilman Kevin J. LaValle - Doreen Newman
Councilman Michael A. Loguercio - Pierina Camurati Leonardo
Councilman Neil Foley - Jennifer McNamara
Councilman Daniel Panico - Cassy Caputo

The Town of Brookhaven's Office of Women's Services is a Division of the Department of Housing and Human Services It provides a variety of services for women and their families. Go to the Town website for more information, or call 631-451-6146.
2022 Womens Recognition Awards Night group photo

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Special Events and Honors

Town Seal

Lunar New Year at Brookhaven Town Hall

Posted on: February 10, 2023