News Flash

Women's Services

Posted on: March 6, 2023

37th Annual Women’s Recognition Awards Ceremony to be Held at Town Hall on March 23rd

Town Seal

Farmingville, NY – – Supervisor Ed Romaine has announced the recipients of the 2023 Women's Recognition Awards who will be honored at the 37th Annual Women's Recognition Night. The event, which will be held on Thursday, March 23 at 6:00 p.m. at Brookhaven Town Hall, is sponsored by the Town's Office of Women's Services. Nominated by members of the community, the winners either live or work in the Town of Brookhaven and have demonstrated excellence in a variety of areas. Nominations were considered by members of Brookhaven Women's Advisory Board and selected based on resumes and letters of recommendation. The 2023 Women’s Recognition Award winners are:

Business: Indu Kaur, resident of Port Jefferson Station
Communications/ Media: Edna J. White, resident of Coram
Community Service Professional: Tijuana Fulford, resident of Mastic Beach
Community Service Volunteer: Joyce A. Bourne, resident of Middle Island
Community Service Volunteer: Erin Dueñas, resident of Sound Beach
Education: Dr. Stephanie Engelmann, resident of Port Jefferson
Health Care Provider: Christina Kocis CNM, DNP, FACNM, Stony Brook Medicine
Law Enforcement: Candice Berezny, Suffolk County Sherriff’s Office
Legal Profession: Melissa Negrin-Wiener, resident of Port Jefferson
Medicine: Ramona Rajapaske, MD, resident of Port Jefferson
Religion: Kara Bocchino, resident of Centereach
Science: Dr. Allison McComiskey, resident of Port Jefferson

This year, the Supervisor, and the members of the Town Board each nominated a woman who resides in the Town to receive a Special Commendation for Outstanding Service. They are:

Supervisor Edward P. Romaine & Deputy Supervisor Daniel J. Panico: Miriam Gillies, resident of Center Moriches
Councilmember Jonathan Kornreich: Dr. Mei Lin “Ete” Chan, Stony Brook University
Councilman Michael A. Loguercio: Lorraine Kuehn, resident of Bellport
Councilwoman Jane Bonner: Jennifer Carlson, resident of Rocky Point
Councilman Neil Foley: Carol A. Seitz-Cusack, resident of Patchogue
Town Clerk Kevin J. LaValle: Patricia Oakes-Poggi, resident of Centereach

The Town of Brookhaven's Office of Women's Services, a Division of the Department of General Services, provides a variety of services for women and their families. For more information about the 37th Annual Women's Recognition Awards Ceremony, please call 631-451-6146 or visit

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Women's Services