News Flash

Special Events and Honors

Posted on: April 20, 2023

Councilwoman Bonner Attends the Sound Beach Fire Department’s 2023 Installation Dinner

Town Seal

Farmingville, NY – – On April 15, Councilwoman Jane Bonner (left photo, second from and right photo center) was a guest at the Sound Beach Fire Department’s 2023 Installation Dinner held at East Wind Long Island in Wading River. During the evening, the new department Chief, Bill Rosasco, Sr. was sworn in and the outgoing Chief Darran Handshaw was honored for his service to the Sound Beach community. Also recognized were William Pellenz and Kenneth Tobiassen who received Length of Service Awards for their 50 years in the department. John Romonoski was honored for 35 years of dedicated service, and Town of Brookhaven Fire Marshal, Keith Williams rounded out the Length of Service Awards with an impressive 30 years of volunteer service to the Sound Beach Fire Department. Also honored was Firefighter of the Year, Mike Guerrisi and EMT of the Year, Keira Nesbitt.

Two very special honors were presented to longtime members Brian McGrath and Ex-Captain, Phil Alaimo, who were both promoted to Honorary Chief of the Sound Beach Fire Department. There was also special mention of Ann Moran who passed away in 2022. Ann was a vital member of the Ladies Auxiliary and served as its president for several years. She is dearly missed, but never forgotten.

Sound Beach Fire Department group photoSound Beach Fire Department whole department Photo

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Special Events and Honors

Town Seal

Lunar New Year at Brookhaven Town Hall

Posted on: February 10, 2023