News Flash

Special Events and Honors

Posted on: January 8, 2018

Councilwoman Bonner Honors New Eagle Scouts from Troop 161 of Shoreham

Councilwoman Bonner Honors New Eagle Scouts from Troop 161 of Shoreham

Farmingville, NY - On January 6, Councilwoman Jane Bonner attended the Court of Honor ceremony for five members of Boy Scout Troop 161 in Shoreham who attained rank of Eagle Scout, the highest rank in the Boy Scouts of America. At the event, the Councilwoman presented each new Eagle Scout with a proclamation from the Brookhaven Town Board. To become an Eagle Scout, a scout must earn a minimum of 21 merit badges, demonstrate leadership, and perform an approved community service project. Pictured left to right are Congressman Lee Zeldin, Councilwoman Jane Bonner; Scoutmaster Matt Yakaboski; Eagle Scouts Dominic Vesely, Ryan Doolan, Tyler Offutt, Ryan Ledda, and Charles Vesely; Committee Member and former Scoutmaster John Aloisio, and Suffolk County Legislator Sarah Anker.

Councilwoman Bonner said, "I commend this extraordinary group for their commitment to scouting and their service to the community. Earning the rank of Eagle Scout is a great achievement that they should all be very proud of. These young men are our country’s future leaders and from what I see, we will be in very good hands.”

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Special Events and Honors

Town Seal

Lunar New Year at Brookhaven Town Hall

Posted on: February 10, 2023